Beginning Game Development With Lime JS, Intro

I’ve recently been looking at developing HTML 5 games. I came up with an idea for a game that I’m beginning to work on, and have decided to blog about my experience in developing it.  While I won’t post everything about the game (as I have to have some trade secrets :-D), I will post the progress of the game development.  To begin, let’s discuss why Lime JS.

First, it’s free.  While not the most important aspect to choosing a framework, being free helps the development of a game that doesn’t require a lot of complexity.  Being that Lime JS is a good overall framework, and the game isn’t that intense, it seemed like Lime JS was a great fit.  Free isn’t always better, but I don’t see added overhead in developing this game with Lime JS instead of a third-party framework, such as Impact JS.

Second, it’s pretty capable.  Lime JS has mouse/keyboard support, uses google closure, box 2D and other frameworks for providing 2D graphics drawing, supports HTML and Canvas rendering.  I also believed I read they have also added WebGL too.  It has support for basic drawing, images and sprites, object interactions through events, and has several features that interested me, which I couldn’t find in other free frameworks.

Certainly, look into each framework yourself and make your own decision.  I liked what I saw in Lime JS, but that doesn’t mean other game frameworks aren’t just as capable too.

Installation

Let’s shift the dicussion to installing Lime JS.  It takes a little more effort to install.  First, download the project from github here: https://github.com/digitalfruit/limejs.  Download the zip, or use GIT to pull it down.  This page, at the bottom, also has installation instructions.  I did not run into problems with the installation (on windows 7 64 bit).  Outside of the core instructions provided, I made the following choices, and everything has run smoothly:

  • Rather than installing Python 3.X, I chose 2.7.3, since it listed Python 2.6+ as the requirement.  Not sure it really matters, but this is what worked for me.  Results will vary.
  • When downloading git from (http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/downloads/list), I chose the installer for Git-1.7.11-preview20120710.exe.
  • I run the command line option for install; make sure you add the python location to the PATH environment variable.

In regards to the python script, lime.py is a utility used to perform certain features; running the lime.py init command downloads the initial set of scripts needed (to the current directory the command line is in).  the create command, with a given project name, will create a new project shell.  There are other uses listed here: http://www.limejs.com/7-building

I hope this helps in regards to installing Lime.

Leave a Reply

